St. George Ski Jump Winterberg

16 minutes by car or 16.1 kilometres from the hotel.

Cover picture St. George Ski Jump Winterberg

When we hear the word "ski jumping", we usually think of snow-covered hills and thickly wrapped spectators. However, ski jumping is a sport that is practised all year round - for example in Winterberg.

Here, at Herrloh in the Winterberg ski lift carousel, is the St. Georg ski jump, designed by Fritz Gladen and built in 1959. Since 2000 it has been a mat ski jump for use without snow, but since 2007 it has once again functioned as a year-round ski jump. Visitors can also climb the steps of the ski jump. Once at the top, they can enjoy a beautiful view of the expanse of the Sauerland.

The ski jump in Winterberg with catering building and adjacent chairlift

Today, the ski jump is mainly used as a training venue for the junior ski jumpers of the Winterberg ski club. In the past, it was the venue for German Championships and for the Nordic Combined Summer Grand Prix.

A large map sign with the pictured lifts next to the ski jump in Winterberg
People take the chairlift up to the ski jump in Winterberg

Address

St. George Ski Jump

At the Herrloh

59955 Winterberg

Back to the overview

St. Georg Sprungschanze Winterberg

16 Minuten mit dem Auto bzw. 16,1 Kilometer vom Hotel entfernt.

Titelbild St. Georg Sprungschanze Winterberg

Beim Wort „Skispringen“ denken wir meist an mit Schnee bedeckte Schanzen und dick eingemummelte Zuschauer. Skispringen ist jedoch ein Sport, der ganze Jahr ausgeübt wird – beispielsweise in Winterberg.

Hier, am Herrloh im Skiliftkarussell Winterberg, befindet sich die St. Georg Schanze, die von Fritz Gladen entworfen und im Jahr 1959 gebaut wurde. Seit 2000 war sie eine Mattenschanze für dem Betrieb ohne Schnee, seit 2007 fungiert sie wieder als Ganzjahresschanze. Auch Besucher können die Stufen der Schanze erklimmen. Oben angekommen genießen sie einen wunderschönen Ausblick in die Weite des Sauerlands.

Die Schanze dient heute hauptsächlich als Trainingsort für den Skispringen-Nachwuchs vom Skiclub Winterberg. Früher war sie Austragungsort für Deutsche Meisterschaften und für den Sommer-Grand-Prix der Nordischen Kombination.

Adresse

St. Georg Sprungschanze

Am Herrloh

59955 Winterberg

Zurück zur Übersicht