Family run since 1898

Founded and built more than 120 years ago by Anton and Ida Diedrich. Today still managed by the Diedrich family, in the meantime in the fourth generation.

Family photo of the owner family Diedrich with from left to right Leander, Dorothea, Benjamin and Reinhard
Diedrich family: Leander, Dorothea, Benjamin and Reinhard.

We have always focused on a single goal: to make friends out of guests. Friends of the house and friends of each other. That's why we always keep a close eye on what people actually need. If we had offered in 1898 what we offer today, we would have failed impressively. If we were to offer today what we offered then, of course, we would likewise fail. Fortunately, we have understood this quite well.

Historical exterior photo of the Hotel Diedrich around the year 1900

Already in the founding year 1898 our house was a place to refuel, because at that time we accommodated as a postal station many people passing through. With us they ate fresh and good food, had great conversations among themselves and let us ease their long ways.

Photo of the former restaurant in the hotel Diedrich around the year 1900
Group photo from 1900 in front of the former Hotel Diedrich

Today, more than 120 years later, we have become the destination of the journey. We are a refuge and an oasis of calm with plenty of space to recharge.

In the meantime, we have created for you a place that takes into account today's desires and necessities. A place of well-being, artful enjoyment and holistic "wellbeings". But not just any place we have created, no, a special place with a special offer. A place to fall in love with. A place that you will keep in the best memory.

Exterior view of Hotel Diedrich with full parking lot and flags

How did we manage that? Not by using superlatives and gimmicky bells and whistles. But through empathetic listening and listening to what our guests told us. We deliberately left out everything else so that we could concentrate on the essentials. On the one hand, this is the proverbial Diedrich's hospitality & hospitableness, which we have carried in our genes for generations. On the other hand, the very special concept - one that we are particularly proud of: a concept with which we lead you back to peace, balance and your inner center.

Interior of the house of the center with yoga mats lying on the floor

See land again

For ourselves, the words "see land again" always inspire us to think - to reflect; to listen within ourselves. For us, it means clarifying our own view, coming to ourselves and opening up new perspectives. What do you associate with the words "See land again"?

A couple sits on a bench along the hiking trail and looks at the half-timbered town of Hallenberg in clear summer weather

Hotel Diedrich anno 1898

In 1898 Anton & Ida Diedrich realized the dream of building a hotel. After the official permission was granted on June 15, 1898, the opening of the hotel took place in December 1898.

[...] to operate the innkeeping business in compliance with the police regulations, if he has a stable for guest horses and a coach house built.

Extract from the official permit at the time
Portrait of the founders Anton and Ida Diedrich in the foyer near the reception desk

At the same time, the two built a rental building for the Imperial Post Office in the annex to the hotel. Even today, the restaurant "Alte Post" and the Poststube are reminders of the almost 90-year rental history.

Reconstructed post office cabinet in front of a photo wallpaper with historical photos in the restaurant Alte Post

Our milestones

DIEDRICH today

We continue to be full of ideas and so, today as in the past, we work tirelessly to provide you with a place of refuge to recharge.

Germany map with all federal states and the location of Hotel Diedrich

Open in google maps

Photos & Impressions

Über uns: Inhaber & Geschichte.

Gegründet und erbaut im Jahr 1898 von Anton und Ida Diedrich. Heute nach wie vor von der Familie Diedrich geführt, in der mittlerweile vierten Generation.

Familienfoto der Inhaberfamilie Diedrich mit v.l.n.r. Leander, Dorothea, Benjamin und Reinhard
Familie Diedrich: Leander, Dorothea, Benjamin und Reinhard.

Seit jeher konzentrieren wir uns auf ein einziges Ziel: aus Gästen Freunde zu machen. Freunde des Hauses und Freunde untereinander. Daher beobachten wir stets aufmerksam, was Menschen tatsächlich brauchen. Hätten wir im Jahre 1898 angeboten was wir heute anbieten, wären wir eindrucksvoll gescheitert. Würden wir heute anbieten was wir damals angeboten haben, natürlich ebenfalls. Zum Glück haben wir das ganz gut verstanden.

Historische Außenaufnahme des Hotel Diedrich um das Jahr 1900

Schon im Gründungsjahr 1898 war unser Haus ein Ort zum Auftanken, denn damals beherbergten wir als Poststation viele Menschen auf der Durchreise. Bei uns haben sie frisch und gut gegessen, tolle Gespräche untereinander geführt und sich von uns ihre langen Wege erleichtern lassen.

Aufnahme des damaligen Restaurants im Hotel Diedrich um das Jahr 1900
Gruppenfoto aus dem Jahre 1900 vor dem damaligen Hotel Diedrich

Heute, mehr als 120 Jahre später, sind wir zum Ziel der Reise geworden. Wir sind Zufluchtsort und Ruheoase mit viel Raum zum Wiederaufladen.

Inzwischen haben wir für Sie einen Ort geschaffen, der heutigen Sehnsüchten und Notwendigkeiten Rechnung trägt. Einen Ort des Wohlergehens, des kunstvollen Genießens und des ganzheitlichen „Wellbeings“. Aber nicht irgendeinen Ort haben wir geschaffen, nein, einen besonderen Ort mit einem besonderen Angebot. Einen Ort zum Verlieben. Einen Ort, den Sie in bester Erinnerung behalten.

Außenansicht des Hotel Diedrich mit vollem Parkplatz und Fahnen

Wie haben wir das geschafft? Nicht durch Superlative und effekthascherischen Schnickschnack. Sondern durch einfühlsames Zuhören und Hineinhören in das, was unsere Gäste uns sagten. Alles andere haben wir bewusst weggelassen und so konnten wir uns auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren. Dies ist zum einen die sprichwörtliche Diedrich’sche Gastfreundschaft & Gastlichkeit, die wir seit Generationen in den Genen tragen. Zum anderen das ganz besondere Konzept – eines auf das wir besonders stolz sind: ein Konzept, mit dem wir Sie wieder in die Ruhe, in die Ausgeglichenheit und ihre innere Mitte führen.

Innenaufnahme des Hauses der Mitte mit auf dem Boden liegenden Yoga-Matten

Wieder Land sehen

Uns selbst regen die Wörter „Wieder Land sehen“ stets zum Nachdenken an – zum Reflektieren; dazu, in uns hineinzuhorchen. Für uns bedeutet es den eigenen Blick zu klären, zu sich zu kommen und neue Blickwinkel zu eröffnen. Was verbinden Sie mit den Wörtern „Wieder Land sehen“?

Ein Paar sitzt auf einer Bank am Wanderweg und Blickt auf das Fachwerkstädchen Hallenberg bei klarem Sommerwetter

Hotel Diedrich anno 1898

1898 verwirklichten Anton & Ida Diedrich den Traum vom Bau eines Hotels. Nach Erteilung der behördlichen Erlaubnis vom 15. Juni 1898 (Zitat) „… unter Beachtung der polizeilichen Vorschriften die Gastwirthschaft zu betreiben, wenn derselbe einen Gastpferdestall und eine Wagenremise errichten läßt“ fand die Eröffnung der (Zitat) „Gastwirthschaft“ Silvester 1898 statt.

Portrait von den Gründern Anton und Ida Diedrich im Foyer nahe der Rezeption

Gleichzeitig errichteten die beiden im Anbau an das Hotel ein Mietgebäude für das Kaiserliche Postamt. Noch heute erinnern das Restaurant „Alte Post“ und die Poststube an die fast 90-jährige Mietgeschichte.

Nachgebauter Postschrank vor einer Fototapete mit historischen Aufnahmen im Restaurant Alte Post

Unsere Meilenstei­ne

DIEDRICH heute

Wir stecken weiterhin voller Ideen und so arbeiten wir, heute wie früher, unermüdlich an Ihrem Zufluchtsort zum Wiederaufladen.

Landkarte der deutschen Bundesländer auf der die Lage des DIEDRICH Hotels markiert ist

Hotel-Impressionen »